© 2024 Marfa Public Radio
A 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Lobby Hours: Monday - Friday 10 AM to Noon & 1 PM to 4 PM
For general inquiries: (432) 729-4578
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Primary Election Results Across West Texas

Elections will be held across West Texas on May 4, 2019.

Texas hosted the nation’s first primary election this year. You can find out the results of some of the statewide and county races here.

Statewide Races

In the Republican Primary for Texas Governor, incumbent Greg Abbot received 1.3 million votes, launching him into the November's general election. In the Democratic Primary, gubernatorial candidates Lupe Valdez and Andrew White are heading to a May primary to determine who will face Abbott.

In the lieutenant governor Democratic Primary, Mike Collier edged out Michael Cooper to receive the party's nomination. In the Republican Primary, incumbent Dan Patrick received 76 percent of the vote.

In the Democratic Primary for U.S. Senate, Beto O'Rourke received the party's nomination. The El Paso Democrat now faces Republican incumbent Ted Cruz, who received roughly 85 percent of votes in the Republican Primary.

In the Republican Primary for Land Commissioner, incumbent George P. Bush managed to stave off the threat of a runoff election, defeating his primary opponent Jerry Patterson. Bush now faces Miguel Suazo in a November election for Land Commissioner.

In the race for Agriculture Commissioner, democratic candidate Kim Olson ran unopposed. And in the contested Republican Primary for the position, incumbent Sid Miller received avoided a runoff, receiving more than 50 percent of the votes.

In the Attorney General primaries, both democratic candidate Justin Nelson and republican Ken Paxton ran unopposed. They will now face each other in November.

In the race for Comptroller, Republican incumbent Glenn Hegar ran in an uncontested race. In the Democratic Primary for Comptroller, Joi Chevalier edged out Tim Mahoney to receive the party's nomination.

In the race for Railroad Commissioner, Democrat Roman McAllen will face Republican incumbent Christi Craddick in the Novemeber election.


District 23

The Democratic race for U.S. House District 23 race was won by political newcomer Gina Ortiz Jones, but it was not a definitive victory. She will face a runoff.

Former San Antonio school teacher Rick Trevino narrowly edged out Uvalde’s Judy Canales to secure a spot in a runoff election against Jones. However, Canales can request a recount, since the margin between the two was only 219 votes.

In a surprising turn, former federal prosecutor Jay Hulings – who had received the backing of prominent state Democrats like the Castro brothers – finished fourth.

District 23 incumbent Will Hurd has so far receive 80 percent of the vote in the Republican Primary.


District 11

The Republican race for U.S. House District 11 was easily won by Mike Conaway, who garnered more than 82 percent of the votes so far. In the Democratic Primary for district 11, Jennie Lou Leeder  sealed the party’s nomination with about 5 thousand votes.


Presidio County

County Judge race, incumbent Cinderela Guevara heads to a May primary runoff against John Ferguson.  So far, Guevara has received 39 percent of the vote compared to Ferguson's 35 percent.

Justice of the Peace,  Pct. 1, incumbent David Beebe held on to his position against challenger Hester Ann White. Beebe received. Presidio Country Treasurer Frances Garcia  won the democratic primary over Katie Sanchez.

Below are the results of the other Presidio County races:

In the Democratic race for County Commissioner, Pct. 2,  Eloy Aranda received 245 votes compared to Margarito Hernandez's 122. In the Pct. 3 race for County Commissioner, Jose Cabezuela and Edgar Ramirez are heading to a May runoff.  In the County Commissiner, Pct. 4 race, Frank "Buddy" Knight, received the party's nomination with 51 percent of the votes.


Midland County

The republican nomination for Midland County judge will be decided in a May runoff between James Beauchamp and Terry Johnson.

Republican Randy Prude received 69 percent of the vote, sealing his nomination for the Midland County Commissioner, Pct. 4 race. Elsewhere, Jeff Robnett won the Republican Primary for the 441st District Judge; Elizabeth Leonard received more than 80 percent of the vote in the Republican Primary for


Jeff Davis County

County Judge, Kerith Risa Sproul ran unopposed, and faces no Republican challenger in the general election in November. In the Republican Primary for District-County Clerk, Jennifer Wright was unopposed and faces no Democratic opponent. In the County Treasurer Republican Primary, Dawn Kitts beat Marsha Everett for the party nomination. For County Commissioner, Pct. 2, Democrat Todd Jagger ran unopposed. In the Pct. 4 race, Democrat Albert W. Miller was also unopposed. In the Justice of the Peace race, Democratic candidates J.R. Harrell and Robert Garcia are heading to a runoff, since neither were able to get a majority of the vote. One of the two will face Republican Mary Ann Luedecke in the November general election who ran unopposed.


Ector County 

In the Republican Primary for Ector County Judge, Debi Hays received 61 percent of the vote. She does not have a Democratic opponent in the general Election in November. In Ector County Commissioner, Pct. 2, Gregg Simmons held on to his seat, receiving 58 percent of votes in the Republican Primary. He doesn't have a Democratic challenger. In the Pct. 4 Republican Primary, Russel Wright beat out opponent Arlo Chavira. Wright will face Democrat Armando Rodriguez in the November general election.

In the Democratic Primary for Justice of the Peace, Pct. 4, Eddy W. Spivey received 57 percent of the vote. The contest for Justice of the Peace, Pct 2, in the Republican Primary is heading to a runoff. Republican candidates Missi Walden and Matthew Stringer will meet in a May runoff election.



Carlos Morales is Marfa Public Radio's News Director.