© 2024 Marfa Public Radio
A 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Lobby Hours: Monday - Friday 10 AM to Noon & 1 PM to 4 PM
For general inquiries: (432) 729-4578
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Election Results: 2018 Party Primary Runoffs


It's Election Day for the Democrat and Republican primary runoff elections in Texas. Voters across West Texas will cast ballots in a handful of local and statewide races, including. Get the latest results here:

These Democratic and Republican races are ones where no candidate earned more than 50 percent of the vote back in March. Tonight’s results determine which candidate will be their party’s nominee for the general election in November.

In the race for the Democratic nomination for Texas governor, former Dallas County Sheriff Lupe Valdez edged out Houston businessman Andrew White. She will now face Gov. Greg Abbott in November.

In the Democratic primary runoff for Congressional District 23, Gina Ortiz Jones has a commanding lead over Rick Treviño. With roughly 55 percent of the District's precincts reporting, the race has been called for Ortiz Jones, who leads Treviño 14,145 votes to 7,210.

Presidio County Judge - Democratic Primary Runoff 
Cinderella Guevara - 638 votes
John Ferguson - 538 votes

Presidio County Commissioner, Pct. 3 - Democratic Primary Runoff 
Edgar Ramirez - 144 votes
Jose Cabezuela - 145 votes

Ector County Justice of the Peace, Pct. 2 - Republican Primary Runoff
Matthew Stringer - 170 votes
Missi Walden - 584 votes
Crane County Commissioner, Precinct 2 - Republican Primary Runoff 
Dennis Young - 114 votes
Betty Damron - 135 votes

Midland County Judge - Republican Primary Runoff
James Beauchamp - 2,321 votes
Terry Johnson - 2,483 votes

Crane County Judge  - Republican Primary Runoff 
Roy Jodges - 414 votes
Jimmy Heath Jr. - 283 votes

Upton County Commissioner, Pct. 4 - Republican Primary Runoff 
Cruez Gomez - 90 votes
Gary Wolfe - 92 votes

Upton County Justice of the Peace, Pct. 2 - Republican Primary Runoff 
Farrah McKenzie - 86 votes
Vicky Jo Jones - 79 votes



Carlos Morales is Marfa Public Radio's News Director.