© 2024 Marfa Public Radio
A 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Lobby Hours: Monday - Friday 10 AM to Noon & 1 PM to 4 PM
For general inquiries: (432) 729-4578
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
We're currently experiencing technical problems with our KOJP signal, which serves the Presidio area. We regret the inconvenience and hope to be back on the air soon.

KRTS Election Results


You've heard many local candidate interviews on KRTS over the past few months. Tuesday, May 29, was primary election night, and we've been delivering coverage on 93.5 FM for races effecting Brewster, Presidio, and Jeff Davis counties.

In 2 races many West Texans have been following, there will be runoffs. The most noteworthy is between Ciro Rodriguez and Alpine's Pete Gallego for U.S. House District 23. With 98% of precincts reporting, Rodriguez carried 46.1% with 18,128 votes, and 16,015 ballots were cast for Gallego, or 40.7% of the vote. In the heated, 3-way contest for the 83rd District Attorney, Frank Brown and Rod Ponton, both of Alpine, defeated incumbent Jessie Gonzales Jr. of Fort Stockton. However, neither received 50% of the vote, and the two will go head to head in a runoff in July.

Roy Ferguson of Fort Davis and Marfa won the Democratic Primary for District Judge in the 394th Judicial District and will face the Republican candidate, Alpine's Anthony Foster, in the general election.

For statewide results, check in with our friends at the Texas Tribune. More local results after the jump.

BREWSTER COUNTY - Democratic Primary

District Judge, 394th Judicial District
Roy Ferguson 1063
Antonio Rodriguez 538

District Attorney, 83rd District
Frank Brown 625*
Rod Ponton 684*
Jessie Gonzales Jr. 369

County Attorney
Steve Houston 1093
Sandy Wilson 534

County Commissioner - Precinct 3
Ruben G. Ortega 211 *
Eduardo F. Vega 125 *
Marcos Paredes 118

County Commissioner - Precinct 4
Mike "Coach" Pallanez 206*
Van Neie 110*
Ruben Losoya 104

JEFF DAVIS COUNTY - Democratic Primary

District Judge, 394th Judicial District
Roy Ferguson 428
Antonio Rodriguez 84

District Attorney, 83rd District
Frank Brown 181*
Rod Ponton 178*
Jessie Gonzales Jr. 89

Sheriff-Tax Assessor Collector
Rick McIvor 360
Robert Hartnett-Garcia 85
Doug Cooney 42

George E. Ramos 159
Clay Woods  276

PRESIDIO COUNTY - Democratic Primary

District Judge, 394th Judicial District
Antonio Rodriguez 862
Roy Ferguson 604

District Attorney, 83rd District
Rod Ponton 531*
Frank Brown 458*
Jessie Gonzales Jr. 409

Danny Dominguez 980
Johnny Schuller 504

Tax Assessor Collector
Brenda Jo Garcia 569
Norma Arroyo 921

County Commissioner - Precinct 1 
Felipe Cordero 138*
Jim White 81*
Larry Skiles 71
* Runoff

Constable - Precinct 1 
Esteban Marquez 324*
Juan Lara 315*
Luis Bobby Pippen 91
* Runoff

Constable - Precinct 2
Esteban Steve Coker 388
Clarisa Pena 297

County Commissioner - Precinct 3
Lorenzo Hernandez 118*
Carlos Armendariz 65*
Butch Acosta 60
* Runoff

Former KRTS/KXWT News Director