© 2024 Marfa Public Radio
A 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Lobby Hours: Monday - Friday 10 AM to Noon & 1 PM to 4 PM
For general inquiries: (432) 729-4578
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Local Election Results


Election day was Saturday, and many area residents went to the polls. Here are your local election results:

Alpine The $22 million bond to construct new facilities for Alpine ISD was not approved. Only 261 voters cast ballots for the measure, and 1,550 voted against. According to Alpine City officials, voter turn-out was far greater than usual for the school bond vote. For city council, Ward 1 incumbent Angie Bermudez was re-elected with 210 votes. Challenger Brian Shugart received 129 votes, and Tommy McDaniel received 40 votes. Ward 3 incumbent Jim Fitzgerald, who received 60 votes, was defeated by Hugh Johnson, who received 117 votes. Carlos Lujan, Another challenger for the Ward 3 seat, received 76 votes. Diana Asgeirsson was uncontested for her Ward 5 seat, and all Alpine school board races were uncontested.

Marfa Three candidates vied for two city council seats. Incumbents David Fannin and Josie Simpson were both re-elected, Fannin with 145 votes, and Simpson with 98. Challenger Rudy Garcia received 56 votes. Mayor Dan Dunlap was unopposed, and will serve his 3rd term as Mayor of Marfa.

Fort Davis Voters went to the polls to vote on a measure that would allow restaurants and other establishments that serve food to serve alcohol as well. The measure passed, with 70 votes for and 26 votes against.

The city didn’t have elections, since Mayor Lorenzo Hernandez, and city council members Butch Acosta, Obed Escontrias and Edgar Sotelo all ran unopposed. In the election for Trustees for the Presidio ISD: the three-year seats were won by challenger Hugo Ramos (175 votes) and incumbents Ether Barrilga (131) and Aureliano Ramirez (94). Incumbent Alfred Muniz was not re-elected, receiving 92 votes. Plus, a special election one-year term was won by incumbent Abelardo Granco, who was uncontested.