© 2024 Marfa Public Radio
A 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Lobby Hours: Monday - Friday 10 AM to Noon & 1 PM to 4 PM
For general inquiries: (432) 729-4578
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Marfa Public Radio wins six regional Murrow Awards


Marfa Public Radio (KRTS 93.5 FM) won six regional Edward R. Murrow Awards today from the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA).

The 2014 awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world. Marfa Public Radio competes in Region 6 and captured top honors in six categories:

  • Newscast
  • Breaking News   (on the Fall 2013 Ice Storm)
  • News Series   (Taramuhara: Challenge in the Sierra Madre)
  • Hard News Reporting   (USDA Pullout From Mexico)
  • Use of Sound   (Holidays in West Texas)
  • Website

"The Murrow Awards honor journalism at its finest," said Mike Cavender, Executive Director of RTDNA. "Local newsrooms serve their communities 365 days a year, and we're proud to recognize the great work they do."

Fronteras Desk Reporter Lorne Matalon won for Breaking News, News Series, and Hard News Reporting. News Director Tom Michael won for Use of Sound. Matalon and Michael appeared on the winning Newscast, along with K Yoland.

Marfa Public Radio was one of only five small-market stations across the country to win in six categories. In the large market radio, WBHM, in Birmingham, Ala. paved the way with eight regional Murrows. Their news department is led by former KRTS staffer Rachel Osier Lindley.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May. A complete list of the 2014 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards winners can be found here.

Former KRTS/KXWT News Director