© 2024 Marfa Public Radio
A 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Lobby Hours: Monday - Friday 10 AM to Noon & 1 PM to 4 PM
For general inquiries: (432) 729-4578
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
We're currently experiencing technical problems with our KOJP signal, which serves the Presidio area. We regret the inconvenience and hope to be back on the air soon.

May 2024 primary runoff results in West Texas

A voter heads into the USO building in Marfa, Texas on March 5 to cast their primary ballot.
Carlos Morales
Marfa Public Radio
A voter heads into the USO building in Marfa, Texas on March 5 to cast their primary ballot.

This is a developing story and will be updated as election results come in.

Voters across Texas finalized their party’s nominees for the November general election in Tuesday’s primary runoff elections.

The Texas Tribune followed key state and federal-level races, including the much-watched GOP primary runoff between incumbent U.S. House Rep. Tony Gonzales and challenger Brandon Herrera. In that race for the 23rd Congressional District, which covers the Big Bend region and most of the Texas-Mexico border, Gonzalez narrowly beat Herrera by just a few hundred votes.

In West Texas, voters weighed in on just a few notable local races, namely for county-level positions in Presidio and Jeff Davis Counties.

Here are the results.

Presidio County

Deirdre Hisler defeated Samuel Sanchez Spencer in Presidio County’s Democratic primary runoff election for Precinct 1 county commissioner by a single vote - 123 to 122.

Sanchez told Marfa Public Radio shortly after the election results were released that he will seek a recount.

“We have to challenge that,” he said.

In the Precinct 3 commissioner’s race, Frankie Ortiz defeated Tiburcio Butch Acosta by a vote of 115 to 93.

With no GOP candidates running for those Presidio County seats, those elections have essentially been decided and the winners will be finalized in the November general election. Other county-level races with no GOP candidates were essentially decided earlier in the March Super Tuesday elections.

Jeff Davis County

Just one local race in Jeff Davis County was on the ballot for Tuesday’s runoff election: the Republican race for county sheriff/tax assessor-collector.

Victor Lopez won that runoff by just one vote - defeating “constitutional sheriff” candidate C.W. Stephens by a count of 301 to 300.

There was no immediate word from Stephens about whether he would seek a recount.

With no Democratic candidates in the running, that race will be essentially finalized with Tuesday’s results. Other Jeff Davis County races with no Democratic candidates were essentially decided in March.

Travis Bubenik is All Things Considered Host and Big Bend Reporter at Marfa Public Radio.